See the world from a different view…

The Case for Photography


Evening Portrait

Okay, so I don’t really need to make a case for photography. It kind of already found its place. This is more about me making the case to myself. I happen to be one of those lazy photographers. The ones who only pull out their camera when they feel it is absolutely necessary. Like at a party, or wedding or some other special event. I tend to let so many other opportunities pass me by simply because I am too lazy to pull out my camera.

That is my loss! I have seen too many sunrise, sunsets, rainstorms and other gleaning moments just pass me by. THESE are the moments that award-winning photos are founded on! These are the moments that photography is for. To capture those moments we want to share with the rest of the world.

I am making it my mission to take more pictures of moments like this. I have a feeling it’s not going to just be a flip of the switch change, but with a little dedication I think I can get better. And that only means my photography can get better too.

This shot of my wife happened as a very spontaneous shoot. We were just coming home from being out and a bout. the “golden Hour” was providing that perfect lighting and I wanted to capture a few shots while it was there. We had many things to do now that we were home, but when I pulled in the driveway I told here to wait there for just a minute. I ran inside to grab the camera (Yeah, taking your camera with you also helps capture those fleeting moments), came right back out and fired off some shots of her in front of our garage. It took only about 10-15 minutes but I got some of my favorite shots of her! I could have easily let this moment pass me by, but I took advantage. Score one for photography!

What is it that you are letting pass you by? Is it a conversation with a friend or relative? Is it a trip to the museum with your wife? Is it an afternoon drive through the mountains? These are all moments that would stick with us. Don’t let them pass you by because you are like me, too lazy and feel like the next thing will be better. There may not be a next thing!

 

One response

  1. Some of my best photographs are moments past. Moments I didn’t have my camera. It happens to all photographers. You are on the right track, keep your camera with you and pull it out more often.

    A lesson I also need to listen to more often.

    Rosh

    January 2, 2012 at 9:20 am

Leave a Reply

